Planning Board

Mission and Organization

The Planning Board is established and governed by the New Jersey Municipal Land Use Law (N.J.S.A. 40:55D1 et. seq.) and the Code of the Township of Harding (Section 7-32).  The Planning Board consists of 9 regular members and 2 alternates.  Planning Board members are appointed by the Township Committee and volunteer their time and expertise without compensation.  Planning Board members are divided into Classes (I to IV).  The Class I member is the Mayor or Mayor's Designate.  The Class II member is an official of the Township other than a member of the Township Committee.  The Class III member is a member of the Township Committee other than the Mayor.  The Class IV members are residents appointed by the Mayor.  Class IV members serve 4-year terms.  Class I and III members serve 1-year terms.  Class II members serve a 3-year term.

The Planning Board is authorized to: adopt and amend the Township's Master Plan (you may view the Master Plan by clicking here); hear and decide development applications involving subdivisions and site plans for permitted uses and conditional uses; make recommendations concerning the official map, zoning map and zoning and land use regulations; and may grant variances under certain circumstances in connection with site plan and subdivision review.

The Planning Board Attorney, Township Engineer, Township Planner, and Health Department review each application for the Board, additionally, the application may be reviewed by the Environmental Commission, Historic Preservation Commission and Shade Tree Advisory Committee for recommended conditions to be included in an application and considered by the Planning Board.

Subdivision, Site Plan and Special Flood Hazard Permit Application Package

Instructions for Electronic Application Filing

Subdivision and Site Plan Fees

Resolution PB# 08-2020 Emergency Protocols for Remote Meetings


Name Term Ends Class
Vacant December 31, 2021  IV  
Rich Clew December 31, 2022 II  Chair
Nic Platt December 31, 2021 I Mayor/Designee
Chris Yates December 31, 2021 III Township Committee
Thomas dePoortere December 31, 2021 IV
Nik Bjorkedal December 31, 2024 IV
Robert J. Edgar December 31, 2024 IV
Alf Newlin December 31, 2024 IV
David Chipperson December 31, 2023 IV  Vice-Chair
Tracey Walters December 31, 2022   Alternate #1
Gwenn Claytor December 31, 2021   Alternate #2

Additional Links

Contact Information

Lori Taglairino
Planning Board Secretary
(973) 267-8000 ext. 723